Skip to main content
Indiana Wesleyan University Support Knowledge Base

How can I share my files and folders in OneDrive for Business?

Answer

 

You can share your files and folders in OneDrive for Business by either:

Invite: This option lets you give specific individuals or groups permission to items, so that you can remove individual permissions later if you need to. Another benefit of sharing items this way is that recipients can quickly access them from their Shared view on the OneDrive for Business website.

1. Select the document you wish to share.

2. Select the Files tab.

3. Click Share.

4. Click Invite people.

5. Enter the email addresses of the people you want to share with, click Add people to pick people from the People app.

6. Add a note to recipients if you want.

7. To change the permission level, click Recipients can edit files or Recipients can view files.

8. Click Send to save the permission settings and send a message with a link to the item.

 

Get a Link: Choose this option to share items with lots of people you might not even know personally. For example, you can use these links to post to Facebook, Twitter, or LinkedIn. You can also use them to share in email or IM, but you won't have as much control over individual permissions.

1. Select the document you wish to share.

2. Select the Files tab.

3. Click Share.

4. Choose the type of link you want. The permissions for the item are automatically updated when you create the link.

5. Click Create link.

6. Paste the link into an email, IM, document, or wherever you want to share it. Or, click Share to. This selects the Share charm so that you can share the link using another app.

 

View only

Edit

Public

When you share items with this type of link, people can view your items without signing in. They can also forward the link to other people.

When you share items with this type of link, people can view your items and use Office Online programs to edit Office documents, all without signing in. To make other edits, like adding or deleting files in a folder, people need to sign in with a Microsoft account. People can forward an edit link to other people, and anyone who receives the link will also be able to edit the items.

A public link is like a View only link, but it also allows anyone to find the shared item by searching.  If you choose this option, people will be able to access the item you're sharing even if you don't publish the link you get.


 

 

 

  • Was this article helpful?