Explains the difference between saving, checking in, and publishing your changes to a site.
NOTE: Team Site (Group Sites) do not require publishing. Changes to team sites are immediately viewable to its members upon saving.
You can save changes to a Portal page without publishing by using the “Save and Close” or the “Check In” buttons at the top of the page. See below for an explanation.
Once you have made some edits, clicking Save and Close will save your work so that may close your window or walk away from the computer without losing your work. It will show you a preview of your work in progress. It will not share your progress with other administrators of your site. It does NOT make your changes viewable to general Portal users (students, employees, etc.)
Once you have made some edits, clicking Check In will save your work, just like Save and Close. But this will also make your changes viewable to other administrators of the site, so if others are working on the site, they could see your changes. It does NOT make your changes viewable to general Portal users (students, employees, etc.)
When you are finished with your edits, you can click Publish. This saves your work, checks it in, and then publishes it, making it viewable to ALL Portal users (students, employees, etc.)
See Publishing Your Site for more information on publishing.