Explains how to log out of the IWU Portal, and when logging out happens automatically.
The IWU Portal is a powerful tool that gives you direct access to all of the applications and important information you need as a member of the IWU community. As a result, it is very important that you make sure this tool doesn't fall into the wrong hands.
If you log into the IWU Portal on a computer or device that is accessible to anyone other than yourself, it is very important that you log out when you are finished using it. Otherwise, your account could be used by someone else to gain inappropriate access to sensitive information about you or other members of the university.
There are two ways you can log out of the IWU Portal:
You will be automatically logged out of the IWU Portal after 8 hours. This is referred to as "timing out", and is a mechanism designed to protect you.
For example, if you log into the IWU Portal on a public computer (such as at a Library) and accidentally leave the computer without first logging out, someone could sit down at the computer, notice you left the IWU Portal open and logged in, and use it to access any of your personal information that is made available to you through the Portal. Having a time out period ensures that should you accidentally leave a computer while still logged into the IWU Portal, you will eventually be logged out automatically, reducing the chances of someone else finding and abusing your Portal account.