Skip to main content
Indiana Wesleyan University Support Knowledge Base

Geo-Blocked Countries

What is geo-blocking and why does IWU do this?

Geo-blocking refers to the practice of restricting access to online content or services based on the user's country of origin.  

Country-based geo-blocking can enhance network security by blocking access from countries known for high levels of cyber crime or malicious activities. This helps IWU minimize the risk of cyber attacks, data breaches, and other security threats originating from these regions.

What IWU services are protected from country based geo-blocking? 

There are an array of services that are protected by IWU's geo-blocking policies:

  • Marion Campus & Satellite Site Networks
  • All Office 365 Applications (email, OneDrive, Teams, Sharepoint)
  • Any SaaS (software as a service) solution/application that uses our IWU credentials to log into it.  (Brightspace, Salesforce etc.)

What countries does IWU currently block for security purposes?

There are several countries that IWU currently blocks.  The comprehensive list is shown below. 

  • Afghanistan
  • Bangladesh
  • Bulgaria
  • Iran
  • Iraq
  • North Korea
  • Pakistan
  • Poland
  • Russia
  • Sudan
  • Syria
  • Venezuela
  • Vietnam


How can I request that a country be 'unblocked' or an account excluded from the policy to allow temporary access due to travel?

Send an email to:
Utilize the subject line:  Geo-block whitelist request

Please note in the body of the email the details of the request including the country, the individual email addresses requiring whitelisting and a justification statement.  The Information Security Office will be sure to reply within 24 hours of the request.





  • Was this article helpful?