Skip to main content
Indiana Wesleyan University Support Knowledge Base

Create and Manage a Sharing Group

Goal

After reviewing this how-to you will have the knowledge needed to create and manage Sharing Groups within the ePortfolio tool in Brightspace.

Please note, when adding other Brightspace users to a Sharing Group, you must do so from the ePortfolio tool within one of your courses. The tool cannot add users to a Sharing Group from the main landing page, it can only be done within a course.

Navigation

 Create a Sharing Group

1. In the ePortfolio toolbar, select the "Sharing Groups" tab.

ePortfolio - Sharing Groups navigation link - All.png

 

2. Select the "New Sharing Group" button.

ePortfolio - Sharing Group new group button - All.png

 

3. Add the title you want for the Sharing Group within the "Name" field. You may add specific details within the "Description" field.

 

4. Select the "Add Users" button (as a reminder, you must complete the following steps from the ePortfolio tool within one of your courses and not from the main landing page).

ePortfolio - Sharing Groups add users button - All.png

 

4a. We recommend selecting the "Users" tab before performing a search in order to narrow down the list of results.

ePortfolio - Sharing Groups users tab - All.png

 

5. Use the "Search" field to find the needed user(s). Please note, the system will not provide results for an exact match of your search.  The results may contain a part of what you searched. For example, if you search by "the" anyone with "the" anywhere in their name will be displayed, such as "Mathew".

 

6. Select the name of the needed individual to add them to your Sharing Group.

ePortfolio - Sharing Groups search results - All.png

 

6a. If you need to remove a member that was previously added, select the 'remove member' button.

ePortfolio - Sharing Groups remove member button - All.png

 

7. Once you have added all of the  members and modified the assigned permissions, if necessary, choose the "Add" button.

ePortfolio - Sharing Groups add members button - All.png

 

8. Select the "Save and Close" button.

ePortfolio - Sharing Groups save and close button - All.png

Back to Top

Manage a Sharing Group

  • To delete a Sharing Group, select the 'delete' button within the row.

ePortfolio - Sharing Groups delete group button - All.png

 

  • To manage the settings of a Sharing Group, select the Sharing Group name.

ePortfolio - Sharing Groups group name link - All.png

 

 

  • To remove a user from the Sharing Group, select the 'Remove Permissions' button.

ePortfolio - Sharing Groups remove member button 2 - All.png

 

  • To manage permissions of a user already added to the Sharing Group, select the 'Edit Permissions' button.

ePortfolio - Sharing Groups edit member permissions button - All.png

 

  • Be sure not to select the 'Remove Permissions' button as it will not close out of this view. Even if you do not make any changes to the permissions, select the "Save" link to close out.

ePortfolio - Sharing Groups save permissions link - All.png